2014 Advanced Sports Chiropractic Runners' Pentathlon
Presented by Greater Philadelphia Track Club

    2014 Advanced Sports Chiropractic Runners' Pentathlon
                     Presented by Greater Philadelphia Track Club

Will be contested on Sunday August 10th, 2014 at Germantown Academy's Carey Stadium & Athletic Complex,
Fort Washington, PA 19034.  The competition will be open to all athletes 14-and-older.  The event is sanctioned by
USA Track & Field, and officiated by certified USATF officials.

The 2013 individual winner was
Nick Berra who amassed an event record 430.76 age graded points to narrowly
defeat last year's champion Lorraine Jasper who finished second.

The 2013 team competition was won by
Athena Track Club "MCC" consisting of Mary Swan, Cheryl Bellaire and
Coreen Steinbach with 430.39 points.  Greater Philadelphia TC finished second.  Complete results are below.  
Photo Gallery is
here and on our Facebook page here,.

Each runner will compete in 5 track races (3000m – 200m – 1500m – 100m – 400m/800m), with a minimum
of 30 minutes recovery time between races. Athletes will choose either the 400m or the 800m for their fifth event
(400m and 800m heats alternated). With an equal mix of sprints and distance events (order as above), this
challenging (but fun!) competition pits sprinter against distance runner to determine the best all-around track
runner. Races will be timed using the fully automatic Finish Lynx Timing System. To ensure approximately the
same recovery time between races for all participants, runners will be seeded in the same overall order for each
race no matter the distance, based on a blended seed time which gives equal weight to their most recent Mile and
400m times.  
Due to the unique format of this meet, the field is limited to 54 runners. Cash awards are 5-deep in the individual
competition, with a Champion’s trophy to the overall winner.

In addition to the Individual Competition, a separate Team Competition will be run
In heats separate from those of the individual competitors, three-person teams will divide up the
five events to determine the best all-around track team. One team member per race and each team member
enters at least one race. Teams can be of any age (14 y/o minimum) or gender.  There is a cash award and trophy
for the winning team and trophies for 2nd & 3rd place teams.

SCORING will be age-graded using the World Masters Association’s 2006 age/gender-graded tables. Points will
be tabulated for each race (the age/gender-graded percentage), and awards based on the cumulative
percentages for the five races. This meet presents a rare opportunity for men and women, young and old, to
compete directly against each other on a level playing field.

SPONSORS  Title Sponsor Advanced Sports Chiropractic is a sports injury clinic focusing on the treatment and
prevention of injuries related to endurance sports. Using techniques on the cutting edge of medical science, they
have experience with IT band syndrome, plantar fasciitis, hamstring injuries, runner's knee, Achilles injuries,
bursitis and many other conditions. Advanced Sports Chiropractic has treated runners of all ages and abilities,
including Catherine Ndereba, 4-time Boston Marathon Champion. Their staff will attend the pentathlon and offer
complimentary stretching, muscle/soft tissue work, chiropractic, injury evaluations, etc. to the runners throughout
the meet.

Full details are on the entry forms below.  Registration is by pre-entry only.  See links below.  Contact
Meet Director Kyle Mecklenborg by
email or phone 215-393-1382 with questions.

2014 Event Documents:

Click to view the National Masters News article about the 2012 Greater Philadelphia Runners' Pentathlon

GPTC Pentathlon 400+ Point Club Champions in Bold
Nick Berra 430.76 (2013)
Kevin Forde 430.02  (2010)
Lorraine Jasper
 428.12  (2013), 416.58 (2010), 414.87 (2012), 406.72 (2011)
Gary Patton 426.93  (2013)
Birger Ohlsson 424.53  (2013)
Joshua Smith  419.32 (2013)
Mark Williams 418.62  (2013)
Bruce Rash 412.13  (2013), 410.95 (2011)
Peter Churchman  408.24  (2010)
Brian Crowley  404.35  (2010)
Chuck Shields  400.81  (2012)
Shown at left is Nick Berra, 2013 Runners'
Pentathlon champion with meet director
Kyle Mecklenborg

View more photos from the event
Johnny King-Marino